NSK Children's Prize

NSK Neustadt Prize for Children's Literature

NSK Children's Prize | NSK Neustadt Laureates | Neustadt Family


A New Mark of Excellence for Writers of Children’s Literature

NSK Prize Medallion

Since 2003, the NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature has been awarded every other year to a living writer or author-illustrator with significant achievement in children’s or young-adult literature. Made possible through the generosity of Nancy Barcelo, Susan Neustadt Schwartz, and Kathy Neustadt and sponsored by World Literature Today, the University of Oklahoma’s award-winning magazine of international literature, the NSK Prize celebrates literature that contributes to the quality of children’s lives. Candidates for the award are nominated by a jury of children’s literature writers, illustrators, or scholars, and the jury also selects the winner of each biennial prize. 

Laureates receive a check for $25,000, a silver medallion, and a certificate at a public ceremony at the University of Oklahoma and are featured in a subsequent issue of World Literature Today. To date, winners of the NSK Prize have included Mildred D. Taylor (2003), Brian Doyle (2005), Katherine Paterson (2007), Vera B. Williams (2009), Virginia Euwer Wolff (2011), Naomi Shihab Nye (2013), and Meshack Asare (2015).


Jury & Finalists for the 2015 NSK Prize


J. L. Powers

Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Sammy and Juliana in Hollywood

Kathryn Otoshi

David Small

The Gardener

Elizabeth Laird

Jamila Gavin

Blackberry Blue

Richard Van Camp

Julie Flett

Owls See Clearly at Night: A Michif Alphabet

Eric A. Kimmel

Leonard Everett Fisher

The Jetty Chronicles

Nii Ayikwei Parkes

Meshack Asare

The Brassman’s Secret

Katherine T. Horning

Peter Sis

The Wall: Growing Up Behind the Iron Curtain




Updated January 2015


World Literature Today
630 Parrington Oval, Suite 110
Norman, OK 73019-4037

Updated by World Literature Today: [email protected]