Neustadt Prize

Neustadt Feather

The Neustadt International Prize for Literature is a biennial award sponsored by the University of Oklahoma and World Literature Today.

The prize consists of $50,000, a replica of an eagle feather cast in silver, and a certificate. A generous endowment from the Neustadt family of Boston, Dallas, and Denver ensures the award in perpetuity.

The prize was established in 1969 as the Books Abroad International Prize for Literature, then renamed the Books Abroad / Neustadt Prize before assuming its present name in 1976, the Neustadt International Prize for Literature. It is the first international literary award of this scope to originate in the United States and is one of the very few international prizes for which poets, novelists, and playwrights are equally eligible.

Visit to see all previous winners, finalists, and jurors for the Neustadt International Prize for Literature, learn more about the prize, and stay up-to-date on all the latest in regard to laureates, convening juries, the annual literary festival, and recent news.

Neustadt Jurors and Finalists

A new international jury of outstanding writers is selected to decide the winner of each Neustadt Prize in odd-numbered years. The members of the jury are determined by the executive director of World Literature Today (who is the only permanent member) in consultation with the journal’s editors and the president of the University of Oklahoma. Each juror nominates one author for the prize. The jurors convene for two to three days at the University of Oklahoma for their deliberations, and the winner is announced at the banquet honoring the laureate of the NSK Neustadt Prize for Children's Literature. A special ceremony in the laureate’s honor is then held the following year, and the writer’s life and work are subsequently profiled in a special issue of WLT.

The Neustadt Prize Charter

The charter of the Neustadt Prize stipulates that the award be given in recognition of outstanding achievement in poetry, fiction, or drama and that it be conferred solely on the basis of literary merit. Any living author writing in any language is eligible, provided only that at least a representative portion of his or her work is available in English, the language used during the jury deliberations. The prize may serve to crown a lifetime's achievement or to direct attention to an important body of work that is still developing. (The prize is not open to application.)

Neustadt–Nobel Prize Convergences

One indication of the prestige of the Neustadt International Prize for Literature is its record of 32 laureates, finalists, or jurors who in the past 49 years have been awarded Nobel Prizes following their involvement with the Neustadt Prize, with only one exception: José Saramago (Portugal), who was a Nobel Prize recipient before being considered for the Neustadt. 


Neustadt-Nobel Prize Convergences, 1970-2018

1970 Nobel Prize in Literature Alexander Solzhenitzyn 1970 Neustadt Finalist
1971 Nobel Prize in Literature Pablo Neruda 1970 Neustadt Finalist
1972 Nobel Prize in Literature Heinrich Böll 1970 Neustadt Juror
1974 Nobel Prize in Literature Eyvind Johnson (co-recipient) 1974 Neustadt Finalist
1975 Nobel Prize in Literature Eugenio Montale 1970 Neustadt Finalist
1979 Nobel Prize in Literature Odysseus Elytis 1972 Neustadt Juror
1980 Nobel Prize in Literature Czesław Miłosz 1978 Neustadt Laureate,
1999 Puterbaugh Fellow
1981 Nobel Prize in Literature Elias Canetti 1978 Neustadt Finalist
1982 Nobel Prize in Literature Gabriel García Márquez 1972 Neustadt Laureate
1985 Nobel Prize in Literature Claude Simon 1972 Neustadt Finalist
1986 Nobel Prize in Literature Wole Soyinka 1974, 1976, 1986 Neustadt Finalist
1986 Nobel Peace Prize Elie Wiesel 1984 Neustadt Juror
1987 Nobel Prize in Literature Joseph Brodsky 1978 Neustadt Juror
1990 Nobel Prize in Literature Octavio Paz 1982 Neustadt Laureate,
1971 Puterbaugh Fellow
1991 Nobel Prize in Literature Nadine Gordimer 1988 Neustadt Finalist
1992 Nobel Prize in Literature Derek Walcott 1978 Neustadt Juror
1993 Nobel Prize in Literature Toni Morrison

1994 Neustadt Finalist 
(nominated before 1993 Nobel Prize announcement)

1994 Nobel Prize in Literature Kenzaburo Oe 1986, 1992 Neustadt Finalist,
2001 Puterbaugh Fellow
1995 Nobel Prize in Literature Seamus Heaney 1994 Neustadt Finalist
1998 Nobel Prize in Literature José Saramago 2004 Neustadt Finalist
1999 Nobel Prize in Literature Günter Grass 1980, 1986 Neustadt Finalist
2002 Nobel Prize in Literature V. S. Naipaul

1978, 1990, 2000 Neustadt Finalist

2003 Nobel Prize in Literature J. M. Coetzee

1994 Neustadt Juror,
2004 Neustadt Finalist (nominated before 2003)

2005 Nobel Prize in Literature Harold Pinter

1972 Neustadt Finalist

2006 Nobel Prize in Literature Orhan Pamuk

2006 Neustadt Finalist
(nominated before 2006 Nobel Prize announcement),
2006 Puterbaugh Fellow

2007 Nobel Prize in Literature Doris Lessing

1998 Neustadt Finalist

2010 Nobel Prize in Literature Mario Vargas Llosa

1970 Neustadt Juror,
1977 Puterbaugh Fellow,
2004 Neustadt Finalist

2011 Nobel Prize in Literature Tomas Tranströmer

1990 Neustadt Laureate

2012 Nobel Prize in Literature Mo Yan

1998 Neustadt Finalist

2013 Nobel Prize in Literature Alice Munro

2006 Neustadt Finalist

2015 Nobel Prize in Literature Svetlana Alexievich 1994 Neustadt Finalist
2016 Nobel Prize in Literature Bob Dylan 2012 Neustadt Finalist


32 Nobel-Neustadt Convergences

4 Neustadt Laureates
7 Neustadt Jurors
21 Neustadt Finalists

As of July 2020

Neustadt International Prize for Literature

Neustadt Prize | Neustadt Laureates | Student Fellowships | Neustadt Family

World Literature Today
630 Parrington Oval, Suite 110
Norman, OK 73019-4037

Updated by World Literature Today: [email protected]