Jury Announced for the 2022 Neustadt International Prize for Literature

May 4, 2021
by  WLT
Photographs of the 2022 Neustadt Jury
Left column (top to bottom): R. O. Kwon, Matthew Shenoda. Center left: Carlos Labbé, Fowzia Karimi, Jennifer Croft. Center right: Carlos Pintado, Hamid Ismailov, Eleni Kefala. Right: Olga Zilberbourg, Tarfia Faizullah

World Literature Today, the University of Oklahoma’s award-winning magazine of international literature and culture, has announced the names of the jury members who will select the next round of finalists for the renowned Neustadt International Prize for Literature.

The jury for the 2022 Neustadt Prize is composed of the following members:

•    Jennifer Croft
•    Tarfia Faizullah 
•    Hamid Ismailov 
•    Fowzia Karimi 
•    Eleni Kefala 
•    R. O. Kwon
•    Carlos Labbé 
•    Carlos Pintado 
•    Matthew Shenoda
•    Olga Zilberbourg

The jurors’ full bios can be found on the Neustadt Prize website.

This prestigious prize can be awarded to a living writer anywhere in any genre. It recognizes great accomplishments in literature and is frequently referenced as “the American Nobel” for its reputation as a forerunner to the Nobel.

The jury’s list of finalists will be announced on June 15, 2021, and final deliberations and voting for the 2022 prize will take place at OU during the Neustadt Lit Fest this fall (October 25–27, 2021).

First awarded in 1970 to Italian poet Giuseppe Ungaretti, the prize has gone to Nobel laureates Gabriel García Márquez, Czesław Miłosz, and Octavio Paz as well as many well-known novelists, poets, and playwrights.

The Neustadt Prize is given in alternating years with the NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature. The 2020 Neustadt Prize was awarded to Ismail Kadare, Albania’s best-known novelist and poet. 

More information about the Neustadt Prize can be found at neustadtprize.org or by email at [email protected].