World Literature Today Announces Finalists for 2025 NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature

June 18, 2024
by  WLT
Photos of the 2025 Finalists for the NSK Prize
Top row (left to right): Samira Ahmed (photo by Erielle Bakkum), Hatem Aly; second row: Lulu Delacre, Cherie Dimaline; third row: Martine Leavitt, Kyo Maclear; fourth row: Malinda Lo (photo by Sharona Jacobs), Hena Khan, Aida Salazar

NORMAN, OKLA. (Tuesday, June 18, 2024) – Finalists for the 2025 NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature, sponsored by World Literature Today, were announced today at the University of Oklahoma. The NSK Prize is one of the most prestigious international children’s and young adult literary awards given in the United States.  

A distinguished jury of peers selects the finalists based solely on literary or artistic merit, either over a lifetime or in a single publication. Nominees are also distinguished for having an ongoing, positive impact on children’s or young adult literature. 

The finalists for the 2025 NSK Prize are as follows: 

Biographical information for the candidates—along with the names of the nominating jurors—can be found here. The prizewinner will be announced on Tuesday, Oct. 22—the second night of the 2024 Neustadt Lit Fest—which runs Oct. 21–23. Laureates receive $35,000, a silver medallion, and a certificate. 

Recognizing the finalists for their excellence, Robert Con Davis-Undiano, executive director of World Literature Today, stated: “It is gratifying to see that the NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature has quickly become one of the premier international prizes for children’s and young adult literature.” 

The NSK Prize was first awarded in 2003 to Newbery Medal winner Mildred D. Taylor. Other notable winners include National Book Award recipients Katherine Paterson (2007) and Virginia Euwer Wolff (2011), Young People’s Poet Laureate Naomi Shihab Nye (2013), Frost Medal recipient Marilyn Nelson (2017), and Pura Belpré Medal winner Margarita Engle (2019). The 2023 NSK Prize was awarded to Gene Luen Yang. 

The NSK Prize is given in alternating years with the Neustadt International Prize for Literature. The 2024 Neustadt Prize winner, Mauritian writer Ananda Devi, will be recognized at the 2024 Lit Fest. Hosted at the University of Oklahoma in Norman each fall, the three-day festival features that year’s winning writer as well as roundtable discussions of literary and cultural trends. The 2025 NSK Prize winner will headline the Neustadt Lit Fest in fall 2025. 

More information about both prizes can be found at For accommodations at this year’s festival, contact Terri Stubblefield at [email protected] or call the WLT offices at 405-325-4531.