Abdulrazak Gurnah

© Nobel Prize Outreach / Photo by Hugh Fox

Abdulrazak Gurnah is emeritus professor of English and postcolonial literatures at the University of Kent. Born in Zanzibar, he is the author of the acclaimed novels Memory of Departure, Pilgrims Way, Dottie, Paradise, Admiring Silence, By the Sea, Desertion, The Last Gift, and Gravel Heart. His latest book, Afterlives, was published in 2020. He served on the jury of the 2004 Neustadt International Prize for Literature, nominating J. M. Coetzee for the award.

  • A photograph of Abdulrazak Gurnah holding up his recently awarded medal from the Nobel committee
    December 8, 2021 | Abdulrazak Gurnah
    Gurnah received the Nobel Prize medal and diploma from the Swedish ambassador on December 6 © Nobel Prize Outreach / Photo by Hugh Fox Earlier this week, Abdulrazak Gurnah received the 202...

World Literature Today
630 Parrington Oval, Suite 110
Norman, OK 73019-4037

Updated by World Literature Today: [email protected]