Jury Announced for the 2024 Neustadt International Prize for Literature

April 26, 2023
by  WLT
Photos of the 2024 Neustadt Jury. Text reads: Announcing the 2024 Neustadt International Prize for Literature Jurors
Top row (left to right): Sholeh Wolpé, Idra Novey (credit: Jesse Dittmar), Alina Stefanescu. Middle row: Jennifer Kwon Dobbs, Cleyvis Natera, Allison Adelle Hedge Coke (credit: Stan Lim). Bottom row: Fabienne Kanor, Romeo Oriogun, Alexandra Lytton Regalado.

World Literature Today, the University of Oklahoma’s award-winning magazine of international literature and culture, has announced the names of the jury members who will select the finalists for the next Neustadt International Prize for Literature.

The jury for the 2024 Neustadt Prize is composed of the following nine members:

Allison Adelle Hedge Coke
Fabienne Kanor
Jennifer Kwon Dobbs
Alexandra Lytton Regalado
Cleyvis Natera
Idra Novey
Romeo Oriogun
Alina Stefanescu
Sholeh Wolpé

The jurors’ bios can be found on the Neustadt Prize website.

This prestigious prize can be awarded to a living writer anywhere in any genre. It recognizes great accomplishments in literature and is frequently referenced as “the American Nobel” for its reputation as a forerunner to the Nobel.

The jury’s list of finalists will be announced in late May, and final deliberations and voting for the 2024 prize will take place at the University of Oklahoma during the Neustadt Lit Fest this fall (October 23–25, 2023).

First awarded in 1970 to Italian poet Giuseppe Ungaretti, the prize has gone to Nobel laureates Gabriel García Márquez, Czesław Miłosz, and Octavio Paz as well as many well-known novelists, poets, and playwrights.

The Neustadt Prize is given in alternating years with the NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature. The 2022 Neustadt Prize was awarded to Senegalese writer Boubacar Boris Diop.

More information about the Neustadt Prize can be found at neustadtprize.org or by email at [email protected].