Eleven visiting writers to deliver public readings

October 11, 2019
by WLT

Photos of the 9 of the 11 visiting writers

Eleven internationally acclaimed writers will read from their work and sign books beginning at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 16, in the Scholars Room (Room 315) of Oklahoma Memorial Union, 900 Asp Ave., on the University of Oklahoma Norman campus.

The writers include nine members of a jury who will select the winner of the 2020 Neustadt International Prize for Literature and two writers attending the festival to celebrate the 2019 NSK Neustadt Laureate, Margarita Engle.

The visiting writers include Russian-born literary nonfiction writer Anna Badkhen; Kapka Kassabova, a native of Bulgaria and a writer of journeys and geographies; Philippine American poet Joseph O. Legaspi; poet, translator and essayist Philip Metres; Dunya Mikhail, an Iraqi American poet and essayist; poet and translator André Naffis-Sahely; Vi Khi Nao, whose work includes poetry, fiction and film; Felipe Restrepo Pombo, a Colombian journalist, editor and author; and Katherena Vermette, a Métis poet and writer of adult and children’s literature.

The reading will also feature Lilliam Rivera, writer of young adult novels who, as part of the 2019 NSK Jury, nominated Engle for the prize, and J. L. Jones, a writer of young adult fiction.

All 11 writers will be available to sign books after the readings.

The Neustadt Prize is given in alternating years with the NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature.

More information about the Neustadt Lit Fest, including full biographies of the jurors, can be found at neustadtprize.org or by email at [email protected]. WLT has received the generous support of the Norman Arts Council.