Author | N

Find your favorite authors featured in WLT or browse the entire list.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

  • Adele Newson-Horst

    Adele Newson-Horst is a professor of English at Morgan State University (MSU) in Baltimore. She is also the coordinator of Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at MSU. She earned a BA from Spelman College, an MA from Eastern Michigan University, and her PhD from Michigan State University. Her books and articles focus on the literature of African, African American, and Caribbean women writers. She is also the vice president of the Henrietta Lacks Legacy Group (HLLG). She regularly reviews books for World Literature Today and Academic Choice. Among other publications, she has published two edited volumes on Egyptian novelist and physician Nawal el Saadawi: The Essential Nawal El Saadawi: A Reader (Zed, 2010) and The Dramatic Literature of Nawal El Saadawi (Saqi, 2009).

  • Duane Niatum

    Duane Niatum (Jamestown S’Klallam) writes poems, stories, and essays and studies European and American Indian art, literature, and culture. He has been widely published in the United States and abroad (see “Moments Hard to Piece Together,” WLT, Autumn 2019). His ninth book of poems is Earth Vowels. The Northwest landscape and legends of his ancestors help shape his writings.

  • photo: randi ward

    Jóanes Nielsen

    Jóanes Nielsen, a former dockworker turned political activist and writer, is one of the preeminent figures in contemporary Faroese literature and culture. He has published seventeen books including the novel Brahmadellarnir, which was nominated for the 2013 Nordic Council’s Literary Prize and is published in English translation as The Brahmadells.

  • Elizabeth Nijdam

    Elizabeth (Biz) Nijdam is a PhD candidate in the Department of Germanic Languages & Literatures at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. Her research focuses on German comics after 1989. Her dissertation project traces East German artistic traditions into the post-unification comics of PGH Glühende Zukunft members Anke Feuchtenberger and Henning Wagenbreth.

  • Ketty Nivyabandi

    Poet and essayist Ketty Nivyabandi was born in Belgium in 1978. She currently lives and works in her hometown, Bujumbura, Burundi. Her poetry, written mostly in French, has appeared online and in several anthologies. In 2012 Nivyabandi was selected to represent Burundi in the London Poetry Parnassus as part of the Summer Olympics. She is working on her first poetry collection.

  • Photo: Luís Carle

    Urayoán Noel

    Urayoán Noel  (b. 1976, San Juan) is a poet, performer, critic, and translator who teaches at New York University. His eighth book of poetry, Transversal, is forthcoming from the University of Arizona Press. His poetry is part of the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico’s permanent exhibition and appears in anthologies such as El canon abierto: última poesía en español, 1970–1985 (Visor).

  • Lucie Nolden

    Lucie Nolden is a National Merit Scholar at Bowdoin College in Maine and an avid reader of European fiction.

  • Thomas Nolden

    Thomas Nolden (PhD, Yale) is the director of the comparative literature program at Wellesley College in Massachusetts and visiting professor in the English department at Brandeis University. He is the author of several books on European writing.

  • Photo by Henry Rexroad

    Elizabeth Novickas

    Elizabeth Novickas worked in a number of fields before returning to her first love, literature. Her translation of Giedra Radvilavičiūtė’s essays  (see page 73) was published in 2013 by Dalkey Archive Press.

  • Aysel (Nino) Novruz

    A pianist and educator, Aysel (Nino) Novruz was born in 1985. Interested in literature from childhood, she published her first article at the age of ten in Günash (Sunlight) magazine. Her literary works are regularly published in different periodicals.

  • paula ilabaca núñez

    Chilean poet and novelist paula ilabaca núñez won the Pablo Neruda Young Poetry Award in 2015. Her published poetic works include la ciudad lucía (2006), la perla suelta (2009), completa (2003), Estados de mi corazón: cuadernos de viaje (2010), and Ínsulas (2012). Ilabaca Núñez’s novel, La regla de los nueve, was published in 2015.

  • Photo by Stephanie Silva

    Manolo Núñez Negrón

    Manolo Núñez Negrón (b. 1980, San Sebastián, P.R.) is a adjunct professor of Spanish and comparative literature at the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras. He was a columnist for the “Buscapié” section of El Nuevo Día and has published two short-story collections, El oficio del vértigo (2010) and Comida de peces (2016); a novella, Barra china (2012); and a book of chronicles, Burundanga Express (2019).

  • Naomi Shihab Nye

    Naomi Shihab Nye is the Young People’s Poet Laureate through the Poetry Foundation (Chicago). Her most recent book is Everything Comes Next: Collected and New Poems (Greenwillow, 2020). Aziz Shihab’s last book was Does the Land Remember Me? A Memoir of Palestine (Syracuse University Press, 2007).

  • Mikaela Nyman

    Mikaela Nyman is a New Zealand writer of Finnish heritage from the Åland Islands and the Swedish linguistic minority. Her first collection of poetry, När vändkrets läggs mot vändkrets, from which this poem was translated, was published by Ellips in Finland in 2019 and nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize 2020. Her first novel, Sado, is set in Vanuatu and was published in 2020 by Victoria University Press.

World Literature Today
630 Parrington Oval, Suite 110
Norman, OK 73019-4037

Updated by World Literature Today: [email protected]